Aggie's Kitchen

Healthy Cookbook Review and Giveaway

Healthy Cookbook Giveaway - Skinnytaste, Clean Slate, sugar-free mom, Healthy Slow Cooker

January is over and most of us are back into our regular (post/non-holiday) routines. It always takes me a few weeks to get back into the swing of things after the holidays, but when I do it feels oh so good. My personal goals this month have been simple and straight-forward – move more, eat less and cook more at home.

Cooking at home comes naturally to me (obviously), but that doesn’t mean I don’t get bored. We all get into cooking ruts from time to time, but the worst time to get into a cooking rut is when you are trying to lose a few pounds and eat right. That’s where today’s giveaway comes in. I’m so excited to share with you these 4 healthy cookbooks that I’ve received recently. The authors and publishers of these books have generously given me a copy to review and a copy (of each) to share with one lucky reader as well! Yep, that’s right, someone is going to win 4 new cookbooks!

(If you are a cookbook lover and collector like me then I am hoping you are excited too 🙂 )

The Skinnytaste Cookbook

The Skinnytaste Cookbook: Light on Calories, Big on Flavor
by Gina Homolka

What I Love About This Cookbook: I love quite a few things about The Skinnytaste Cookbook, but first and foremost, I just adore the author, Gina Homolka. I have followed her blog for so many years, originally finding it when I was on Weight Watchers. Her cooking style and philosophy is very similar to mine. We both enjoy healthy-ing up recipes we already love and we stay away from “diet food”. Gina’s recipes are very family friendly which is a big draw for me as well. I could plan a whole week’s worth of recipes straight from this book and I’m very sure that each person in my family will love every single one of them. Another great thing about this book and the recipes is they are made with very accessible, whole and fresh ingredients. This is real food, nothing fancy or intimidating. The best part is you will feel good about everything you cook and eat from the book.

Recipes I Can’t Wait To Try: Naked Persian Turkey Burgers, Kiss My (Shrimp and) Grits, Mongolian Beef and Broccoli, Slow Cooker Jerk Chicken Tacos with Caribbean Salsa

Clean Slate: A Cookbook and Guide

Clean Slate: A Cookbook and Guide: Reset Your Health, Detox Your Body, and Feel Your Best
from the editors of Martha Stewart Living

What I Love About This Cookbook: This book is more than just recipes, it is filled with valuable information on nutrition and taking care of your body from the inside out, most importantly with the food you are consuming. If you are a nutrition junkie like I am then you will love reading through the action focused chapters starting with the Reset chapter which breaks down everything from smart swaps, to explaining which foods are good for detoxifying, inflammation and digestion. This is a very smart book and I find myself learning so much from it. The second part of the book is filled with gorgeous recipes that are nutritious, clean and mostly plant-based (but with some chicken and fish recipes mixed in). I also have to mention there is a section dedicated to detoxifying, anti-inflammatory, energizing and hydrating juices and smoothies. I want to make every single one of them.

Recipes I Can’t Wait To Try: Roasted Mushroom Tartines with Avocado, Wild Salmon with Lentils and Arugula, Quesadillas with Collard Greens and White Beans, Brussels Sprout Salad with Avocado and Pumpkin Seeds, Strawberry, Grapefruit and Ginger Smoothie

sugar-free mom cookbook

Sugar-free Mom: Naturally Sweet and Sugar-free Recipes for the Whole Family
by Brenda Bennett

What I Love About This Cookbook: It is educational! I mentioned being a nutrition junkie before, and this book really educated me on sugar and it’s alternative forms. Brenda really takes the time to give you background on herself, her relationship with sugar, how she stocks her pantry, and how to incorporate sugar free recipes into your cooking and baking. She encourages easing into this healthier lifestyle change and really helps you through the process. Though I personally have no intention of cutting out sugar 100%, it is an ingredient I try to avoid when I can and I am always look for ways to cut back in my cooking and baking. Since Brenda herself is a mom of 3, this cookbook is filled with family friendly recipes. The author Brenda Bennett writes the blog Sugar-FreeMom.

Recipes I Can’t Wait To Try: No-Bake Nut-Free Granola Bars, Garlic Parmesan Roasted Chickpeas, Stuffed Kale Quinoa Rolls, Italian Spinach Meatloaf Muffins, Turkey Taco Stuffed Peppers

Healthy Slow Cooker Revolution Cookbook

The Healthy Slow Cooker Revolution
from America’s Test Kitchen

What I Love About This Cookbook: What I love about this cookbook is what I love about all of America’s Test Kitchen cookbooks, it’s thoroughly researched and tested cooking methods, tips and recipes. These books truly make me a better cook. There is a whole chapter dedicated to Slow Cooker 101 that explains in depth how to cook with a slow cooker, more specifically how to cook healthy in a slow cooker. It also features a section reviewing 9 different slow cookers.

Recipes I Can’t Wait To Try: Manhattan Clam Chowder, Glazed Meatloaf, Farro Risotto with Carrots and Goat Cheese, Apple Oat Crisp

Time for a giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway starts Sunday, February 1. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter/Random.org. Winner will be contacted by me via email and will have 48 hours to reply before another winner will be selected. Sorry, but giveaway open to US addresses only.

(note: if you are commenting on Aggie’s Kitchen for the first time, it may take some time to see your comment appear. Thanks for your patience!)

Good luck and thanks so much for entering!

(Disclosure: I was provided the mentioned cookbooks for review, and winner will be sent their own cookbooks from the publishers. All opinions are my own.)

(Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this post. I make small earnings through any purchases made through these links. Thank you for supporting Aggie’s Kitchen!)

Are you following me on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest? If you’d like to subscribe to Aggie’s Kitchen and have each post delivered straight to your e-mail box, then please add your email here. Happy cooking!

There are affiliate links in this post. I make small earnings through any purchases made through these links. Thank you for supporting Aggie’s Kitchen!

Keep in Touch

Never miss a recipe! Subscribe to receive new post updates via email:

100 Responses to “Healthy Cookbook Review and Giveaway”

  1. Kathy Gardner posted February 1, 2015 at 7:45 am

    We have autoimmune disease in my family – arthritis and psoriasis – so I’ve been experimenting with an anti-inflammatory diet. I’ve found cutting back on sugar really helps my inflammation, and I’ve definitely reduced my taste for it.

  2. meaghan posted February 1, 2015 at 8:09 am

    To lose the last 20 lbs! Already down 40 🙂

  3. Kel posted February 1, 2015 at 8:11 am

    To pray more…. and to keep up with my exercise.

  4. Annette posted February 1, 2015 at 8:14 am

    One healthy goal I set for myself is to cook more. For awhile I’ve been eating out a lot and feeling terrible from it. I know that when I cook I always feel better, because I use whole foods that nourish my body.

  5. Shoshana posted February 1, 2015 at 8:23 am

    I want to continue to avoid processed foods and shop/cook more locally grown foods.

  6. Jamie posted February 1, 2015 at 8:24 am

    This year I have a goal to move more. I’ve started doing yoga through a class at work 2 nights/wk. it’s a start

  7. cindy jones posted February 1, 2015 at 8:32 am

    My husband and I have set a goal to lose weight and eat healthier. We started on our quest the Monday of Thanksgiving week with the mindset that if we could make it through the holidays then we could make it through the new year. At this point I have lost 30 pounds and he has lost 22 pounds. We are loving learning new foods and ways to cook them.

  8. Amy L posted February 1, 2015 at 8:38 am

    My healthy goal is to eat more mindfully. I’ve been keeping track of what I eat, cutting back on unhealthy fats, sugars, and processed foods, and replacing them with more whole grains and fresh fruits & vegetables.

  9. Melissa posted February 1, 2015 at 8:40 am

    To get back into my workout schedule.

  10. Jenn Copland posted February 1, 2015 at 9:01 am

    I’ve been on Weight Watchers for a year now and have lost 30 lbs. I’m hoping to lose 5 more but have been struggling to eat good food that also tastes great. I’ve plateaued and have been maintaining my loss but I need something to kick start me again. New recipes would help do that

  11. michelle posted February 1, 2015 at 9:04 am

    I just finished my Whole30 and am continuing on a very healthy eating journey. I love food and cookbooks and have been a big fan of Skinnytaste for a while. These cookbooks look amazing!

  12. Tomarah Joyner posted February 1, 2015 at 9:13 am

    I love healthy, flavorful recipes that my teen girls will eat and love! I’ve tried several from Aggie’s Kitchen, and we are big fans! Plus I bring leftovers to work for lunch, and everyone always wants the recipes!!

  13. Phyllis posted February 1, 2015 at 9:19 am

    To walk a little more

  14. Haley C posted February 1, 2015 at 9:28 am

    To be active every day and to snack more “healthily”…

  15. Gabby posted February 1, 2015 at 9:31 am

    To eat more veggies and fruit.

  16. Liz posted February 1, 2015 at 9:40 am

    To use less fatty foods and more vegetables. Also less meat. I love these cookbooks and I too am a collector of cookbooks. A nice giveaway and I hope I win.

  17. Karen @ On the Banks of Salt Creek posted February 1, 2015 at 10:09 am

    I love cookbooks. I get so bored and must try new things often. My husband is trying to lose weight so good but healthy meals are what I am looking for.

  18. Heather posted February 1, 2015 at 10:10 am

    I am trying to watch my sugar intake and eat more fresh foods!

  19. Rosie posted February 1, 2015 at 10:20 am

    I, too am trying to keep it simple by moving more and eating less…especially less of the sweets!

  20. Donna U posted February 1, 2015 at 10:45 am

    To continue juicing as a priority and whole food at home.

  21. Hilary posted February 1, 2015 at 10:54 am

    To encourage my youngest child to eat more veggies is our goal!

  22. Kyris posted February 1, 2015 at 10:57 am

    Our big goal is more greens! We both, hubby and I, know that we need more of these nutrition power houses in our diet and have resolved to make it so.

  23. Sarah Jane Jennings posted February 1, 2015 at 11:18 am

    Maintain a healthy weight and push myself to try new things in the kitchen!

  24. Theresa posted February 1, 2015 at 11:32 am

    The Slow Cooker Cookbook looks phenomenal!

  25. Cori posted February 1, 2015 at 11:40 am

    Eat less processed foods

  26. Tabby posted February 1, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    I am in constant search of healthy and tasteful recipes for my family. We each have particular eating habits and interests and combining everyone’s likes/dislikes/ and needs can be challenging:) it’s a lot of trial and errors in my kitchen!

  27. Itzia posted February 1, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    One goal I’ve set is to drink more water and walk more

  28. Carol G posted February 1, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    Trying to eat meals on a smaler plate and walking more.

  29. Casey knepshield posted February 1, 2015 at 12:23 pm

    Drink more water!

  30. Anne posted February 1, 2015 at 1:00 pm

    Drink at least 8 cups of water every day.

  31. Ilene posted February 1, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    I’m trying to cut back on sugar.

  32. Cindy posted February 1, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    I am working on adding more vegetables to my diet and walking every day.

  33. Jenn posted February 1, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    I’m watching my sugar consumption.

  34. Sue posted February 1, 2015 at 1:44 pm

    This year I am trying to eat healthier and lose weight!

  35. vaishali posted February 1, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    No 2nd servings!!

  36. Meghan posted February 1, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    My goal is to lose enough weight that I no longer gasp for air coming up my front steps!

  37. Pam Capone posted February 1, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    I’m 60% away from my target weight, my goal is to continue on this journey and to complete a 1/2 marathon in September.

  38. Mercedes posted February 1, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    One healthy goal I have set for myself this year is to exercise at least 3 days per week. Thanks for this giveaway, I would LOVE to win!!

  39. Yolanda posted February 1, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    I am totally interested as nutrition and cooking are some of my passions

  40. Kim B. posted February 1, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    I’m committed to doing Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred! Pray for me! Ha ha!

  41. Alison posted February 1, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    My healthy goal is to incorporate more raw fruits and veggies into my diet!

  42. Robin posted February 1, 2015 at 3:12 pm

    To drink more water.

  43. KrIstin posted February 1, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    do more yoga!

  44. Alice posted February 1, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    My healthy goal is to eat more vegetables and less sugar.

  45. Carol posted February 1, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    I’m in a rut. Making the same things. These would help jump start me and sound informative too. Thanks for all the recipes you post. They’re so doable without having to buy a million weird condiments or spices.

  46. Dorothea posted February 1, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    One healthy goal I’ve recently set for myself is to seriously cut back on sugar!

  47. Denise in Colorado posted February 1, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    I collect cookbooks and I’d love to win these!! 🙂

  48. Sonya L posted February 1, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    To get back on track with eating healthier and working out

  49. Chelsea F. posted February 1, 2015 at 5:09 pm

    i want to eat more vegetables.

  50. Hillary posted February 1, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Cooking more at home and making my lunches!!! Those will ALWAYS be healthier than eating out at work!

  51. Nichole M posted February 1, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    I need to exercise more and try to cook more meals at home!

  52. dani posted February 1, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    drink more water and get more sleep!

  53. Maria posted February 1, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    Trying to drink more water and walk the dog more often (hard with the cold winter temps.)

  54. Carol K posted February 1, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    I want to continue to not eat curbs too often and not eat processed food.

  55. Bethany C. posted February 1, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    I’m really trying to be less sedentary.

  56. Susan Broughton posted February 1, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    One goal I have made for myself is to drink more water. I don’t drink enough water so I made this goal for myself for this year.

  57. Rivki locker posted February 1, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    This year I’d like to simply eat less.

  58. Lisa posted February 1, 2015 at 9:45 pm

    i am trying to eat less sugar, more salads!

  59. sara posted February 1, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    I’m trying to up my water intake. I don’t drink nearly enough.

  60. Courtney posted February 1, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    While I do a decent job of keeping things healthy, I want to focus more on really getting the nutrients I need and would love some inspiration!

  61. Rachel S posted February 1, 2015 at 10:57 pm

    I’m working on eating more vegetables.

  62. Nichole Mairs posted February 2, 2015 at 5:09 am

    My husband and I are trying to cut back on eating out. It’s actually been fun to try to cook new foods and avoid the stress of being at a restaurant with two kids.

  63. Carol posted February 2, 2015 at 7:42 am

    Didn’t see it’s supposed to be a goal…..to be more diverse in my meal plans….get out of this rut!

  64. Dolores Vinson posted February 2, 2015 at 8:38 am

    I reached one year smoke free, have stared swimming 3 to 5 time a week have made eating for health . Love creating healthy recipes and just since August lost 14 pounds and lowered cholesterol. would love to win any of the cookbooks.

  65. Lisa Matarazzo posted February 2, 2015 at 8:56 am

    I always have so many good intentions but I’m not very good with follow through. I always have something that interferes. Sometimes it’s of my own doing. I’m used to be a very healthy eater. I always drink lots of water. I definitely am going to be focusing on doing a better job at portion control and another healthy priority this year is to increase my activity level.

  66. Kim posted February 2, 2015 at 9:09 am

    To lose these last stubborn twenty pounds.

  67. Lauren posted February 2, 2015 at 9:32 am

    My healthy goal for this year is to drink more water.

  68. Lucy posted February 2, 2015 at 10:03 am

    Lose weight and get healthy!

  69. Brandi Davis Bryant posted February 2, 2015 at 10:15 am

    We have been trying to eat better, byeating more fruits and vegetables. We are adding exercise to our daily routine. Thanks for the giveaway.

  70. jessica z posted February 2, 2015 at 10:16 am

    To eliminate added sugar

  71. Karen posted February 2, 2015 at 10:27 am

    I love fruits and veggies, but I tend to “forget” to eat them, so I’m going to try to include them at every meal.

  72. Brenda@Sugar-Free Mom posted February 2, 2015 at 10:53 am

    Thank you so much for the awesome review Aggie!!

  73. TC posted February 2, 2015 at 11:18 am

    Eat more homemade meals!

  74. Susan Henderson posted February 2, 2015 at 11:35 am

    I’m discovering that I am allergic to dairy, so I’m committed to learning to eat dairy free—a challenge for one who eats yogurt all the time! These cookbooks look fantastic, and I can’t wait to read them. Thanks for your insightful reviews!

  75. Charlene Glover posted February 2, 2015 at 12:38 pm

    No more soda

  76. Marsha A posted February 2, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    To get back into working out and eating healthy.

  77. Aggie posted February 2, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    These books look amazing! I’ve just rebooted my families eating, and these will be a great resource.

  78. Hannah posted February 2, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    My goal is to eat less processed foods and to be more adventurous in the kitchen

  79. Nicole posted February 2, 2015 at 2:06 pm

    I have such a sweet tooth, so my goal is to get better at telling myself no!:)

  80. Barbara posted February 2, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    I recently had gout and have been advised to follow a diet without sugar or artificial sweeteners and cut out processed foods. Pretty good advice for most of us really!

  81. Sandra K posted February 2, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    I plan on doing more walking. I don’t need to lose weight as much as I need to tighten and re-arrange what I already have.

  82. Polly Battaglia posted February 2, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    I am cutting back on sweets and carbs in order to improve my health and drop a few pounds. I’ve borrowed The Skinnytaste cookbook from the library and absolutely love it. Have tried some recipes and can’t wait to try more. Thanks for the opportunity to own these books!

  83. Laura K posted February 3, 2015 at 8:42 am

    My goal is to move more and eat healthier. Would love to learn how to make healthy flavorful meals.

  84. barbara n posted February 3, 2015 at 9:48 am

    I am really trying to add more fruits and vegetables to my day!!

  85. Barbara W posted February 3, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Always trying to improve our diets and looking for healthier eating recipes. I just finished cooking brown rice and looking forward to trying the Salmon Spinach Bake today. Sounds so yummy!!

  86. Kim posted February 3, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    I am trying to eat healthier lunches – instead of my usual leftover pasta. Today i had a yogurt with granola!

  87. Valerie | From Valerie's Kitchen posted February 3, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    I’ve resumed my regular runs now that I’m working from my home office again. I wake up and put on my running clothes and make myself jump on the treadmill before lunch. I’m also eating far lighter lunches now that I’m making my own choices instead of eating out with my husband (we work together). I hold my husband completely responsible for the weight I need to lose right now 🙂 I love all of these books!!!

  88. sheila posted February 4, 2015 at 9:32 am

    I would love the sugar free mom cookbook, I need to work on cutting back the sugar…I love to bake so it’s a given I use a lot of sugar!

  89. Kristi posted February 4, 2015 at 11:09 am

    processed foods are my nemesis. They are just way too convenient. I am making the transition to low sugar real food.

  90. Carol Oates posted February 4, 2015 at 11:47 am

    To eat more healthier and grow more veggies myself!

  91. ilona t posted February 4, 2015 at 10:40 pm

    eat more veggies!

  92. Ann M. posted February 5, 2015 at 9:58 am

    My healthy goal this year is to eat more veggies and to move more!

  93. Jennifer S posted February 5, 2015 at 10:09 pm

    I would really like to cut the carbs and use only whole grains in small proportions.

  94. Pam Hoffman posted February 6, 2015 at 12:48 am

    Eat more colorful foods!!

  95. Robin posted February 6, 2015 at 7:10 am

    to drink more water, less coffee!

  96. Lynn BB posted February 6, 2015 at 8:17 am

    We need to get back on the healthy track! Exercise is not enough.

  97. sue w posted February 6, 2015 at 5:38 pm

    I would love to incorporate more whole ingredients with minimal sauce mixes and still achieve great family friendly flavor!

  98. jessica w posted February 7, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    to walk more, drink more water, and try to make healthier eating choices

  99. ET Pruitt posted February 7, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    To eat more leafy greens and fiber.

  100. anu posted April 7, 2015 at 4:27 pm

    healthy eating is all i want for me and my family

Leave a Comment